Let’s Start at the Very Beginning

…A very good place to start….
If you can’t tell, I recently watched The Sound of Music, but its out of my system…at least for now…
This blog is going to be about life.  My not-very-settled, no idea what I’m doing (or even what I want to do), with very little idea of where I will end up, life. I say ‘very little idea’ about where I’ll end because while I don’t exactly know what it is I want to do, I have eliminated a few things.  Having spent time teaching children, I know that’s out.  As someone who is way more interested in social sciences, anything math-y or too science-y is out.  It’s really unfortunate since getting a job doing international development, aid work, working for an international organization is incredibly difficult. Really, getting any job (especially one you actually want) is pretty hard. I’d love to get a job working for a non-profit, but I’m getting nothing.  It’s becoming pretty disheartening.
I’m going to be writing here as I figure things out and have new adventures (and misadventures).  Right now, I’m living at home in a less-than-exciting area. After graduating college in 2010 with a pretty useless degree, spending a year teaching in South Korea, deciding that no, law school really isn’t from me (and good-bye life plan), joining the Peace Corps and spending a year teaching in Guyana, I am back home.  With my parents. These were great experiences and the only thing I regret is leaving my PC service early for reasons that are hard to explain, impossible to understand for anyone that hasn’t served with the Peace Corps, and that no longer seem important (though, at the time, the circumstances were making me miserable).
To anyone reading this who doesn’t know what to do, go travel.  If you speak English and have a college degree, you can get a job teaching pretty much any where in world.  For first-timers, I highly recommend going to South Korea, though, if you don’t like the cold (it gets SO cold), I recommend trying to get a job south of Seoul, not north of it where I was.
So, I’m back home, worked for a while, went and got a paralegal certificate.  I’ve been applying for paralegal/legal secretary/assistant and random other non-profit/interesting jobs for 3 months now with no luck. I’m not sure it’s something I  want to do long-term, but a way for me to do something that could be interesting while making money and being near my family.  But, since that’s not going anywhere, it looks like my next stop may be Saudi Arabia.  I would be going there to teach English at an all-girl university (probably in Riyadh), making some money, and venturing out into an new and very different culture. Life’s moving on and I’ve got to move with it.
While I’m home, and even while I’m not, I’m going to be doing what I can to lose weight.  After college I was about 15 pounds away from what I wanted to weigh. And then I moved, gained weight, moved, lost weight, came back home and gained. A lot. Now, I’ve always struggled with weight.  And being 5’10” and consistently over-weight usually just leaves me feeling like a giant and definitely wasn’t easy during school/growing up. I realize now that what I want is to lose weight for myself, not so much for what others think.  I want to be able to do 12-hour long hikes again, be comfortable in my own body, and live a healthy life. My goal is to lose about 60 pounds.  For the last month I’ve been doing Atkins and it hasn’t been going that well, but I’m going to stick with it for another week or so and see what happens. I actually really like this diet just because it’s easy; no tracking, just avoiding eating too many carbs, but I’ve only lost 5 pounds in a month (all in the first week) and really want to lose more.
My life is by no means settled, and I don’t know that I want it to be.  I’m not sure that the typical American version of “settling down” is for me, but neither am I sure that its not.  This blog will be me figuring it out as I go and trying not to stress too much over it. Life is about living, and I’m figuring out how I want to live mine.

Leave a Reply

